HC Deb 08 January 2002 vol 377 cc582-3W
Dr. Tonge

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs which countries are subject to(a) an EU arms embargo and (b) a UN arms embargo. [23685]

Mr. Bradshaw

Countries subject to a United Nations arms embargo are Afghanistan (territory under Taliban control), Angola (UNITA), Iraq, Liberia, Rwanda, Sierra Leone (non-Government forces) and Somalia. There are also restrictions in place on Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo, Tanzania and Uganda where arms and related material are intended for use in Rwanda.

Countries that are not subject to a UN arms embargo that are subject to European Union restrictions are Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burma, China, Democratic Republic of Congo, Libya and Sudan.

A full account of the sanctions operated by the United Kingdom, including the United Nations and European Union measures, can be found on the Foreign and Commonwealth Office website at http: //files.fco.gov.uk/und/sanctions/list.pdf.

Forward to