HC Deb 22 December 1997 vol 303 cc443-4W
Mr. Hawkins

To ask the Secretary of State for Scotland how many(a) special advisers, (b) task force members and (c) review body members his Department employs; what is the total salary and benefits of (a) to (c); and what was the equivalent cost prior to 1 May. [19303]

Mr. Dewar

[holding answer 10 December 1997]: Since 1 May 1997, my Department has employed two Special Advisers, four Task Force members and two Review Body members. Prior to 1 May 1997, there were two Special Advisers, two Task Force members and one Review Body member. Information on the salary costs to individual departments of Special Advisers is not provided in order to protect the privacy of the individuals concerned. However, information on the total paybill for Special Advisers across Departments was given by my right hon. Friend the Chancellor of the Duchy of

Appointments since 1 May 1997
Body Appointee Position Whether remunerated (Yes or No)
Executive NDPBs
Accounts Commission for Scotland Mrs. Marcia Campbell Member Yes
Mr. John Mullin Member Yes
Mr. Donald Dewar Member Yes
Highlands and Islands Enterprise Mr. Alistair Gray Member Yes
Joan Currie Member Yes
Mr. James Gray Member Yes
Mr. Colin Paterson CBE Member Yes
National Museums of Scotland Mr. Robert H. Smith Chairman No
Parole Board for Scotland Lord Ross Member Yes
Sheriff Brian Lockhart Member No
Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Professor Roland Paxton Commissioner No
Monuments of Scotland
Scottish Agricultural and Biological Research Institutes
Rowett Research Institute Dr. James Stewart Member No
Scottish Crop Research Institute Mr. Andrew C. Bain Member No
Dr. John Sime Member No
Mr. Philip Whitworth Member No
Scottish Agricultural Wages Board Mrs. Mary M. McKelvie Member Yes
Scottish Community Education Council Lillias Noble Member No
Mr. Norman MacDonald Member No
Mr. Alan Blackie Member No
Mr. Louie MacAllan Member No
Mr. James Sweeney Member No
Scottish Enterprise Sir Ian Wood Chairman Yes
Mr. Cameron McLatchie CBE Deputy Chairman Yes
Cllr. Keith Geddes Member Yes
Mr. Eric Hagman Member Yes
Janet Lowe Member Yes
Sir Iain Vallance Member Yes
Sottish Higher Education Funding Council Professor Geoffrey Boulton Member Yes
Ann Kettle Member Yes
Dr. Valerie Maehle Member Yes
Mr. Stewart Miller Member Yes
Mr. James Wright Member Yes

Lancaster in his answer to the hon. Members for Gordon (Mr. Bruce) and for Kingston and Surbiton (Mr. Davey) on 25 November 1997, Official Report, columns 472–73. Task Force and Review Body members are individuals other than Departmental officials who may either be paid a salary or fee to work within a specific remit. Many are however unpaid apart from expenses. There was no cost for Task Force members either before 1 May 1997 or since then. Similarly, there was no cost for Review Body members prior to 1 May 1997, but since 1 May fees amounting to £1,026 have been paid.

Back to