HC Deb 24 April 1996 vol 276 cc165-8W
Mr. William O'Brien

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department if he will list the local authorities which have been granted financial help with the provision of city centre closed circuit television. [26272]

Mr. Maclean

The 106 winners of the first Home Office closed circuit television challenge competition are listed. Additionally, phase 1 of the Home Office safer cities initiative funded some CCTV schemes. These areas are also listed. In both cases, the areas covered are not necessarily town or city centres, and payments were made to local partnerships, not to local authorities.


Successful bids:

  • Addlestone, Surrey-town centre
  • Ashford, Kent-town centre
  • Banbury, Oxfordshire-railway station, arts and sports centres
  • Basingstoke, Hampshire-town centre
  • Bishop Auckland, Co. Durham-town centre
  • Blackpool, Lancashire-town centre
  • Bodmin, Cornwall-town centre
  • Boroughbridge, North Yorkshire-town centre
  • Boscombe (Bournemouth), Dorset-town centre
  • Boston, Lincolnshire-town centre
  • Brigg, Humberside-town centre
  • Bristol, Avon-Berkeley Square car park and shopping centre
  • Brodsworth, Doncaster, South Yorkshire-Scawsby community centre
  • Bury, Lancashire-town centre
  • Carlisle, Cumbria-city centre
  • Chelmsford, Essex-town centre
  • Chesham, Buckinghamshire-town centre
  • Chester, Cheshire-city centre
  • Chester le street, Co. Durham-town centre
  • Cirencester, Gloucestershire-town centre
  • Clithoroe, Lancashire-town centre
  • Colwyn Bay, Clwyd-town centre
  • Cwmbran, Gwent-town centre
  • Dartford, Kent-town centre
  • Denton (Tameside), Greater Manchester-business development centre
  • Doncaster, South Yorkshire-Balby street school
  • Donington, Lincolnshire-town centre
  • Dover and Deal, Kent-town centre
  • Driffield, Humberside-town centre
  • Eastbourne, Sussex-town centre
  • Egham, Surrey-town centre
  • Ely, Cambridgeshire-town centre
  • Erith, Kent-town centre
  • Falmouth, Cornwall-town centre
  • Folkestone, Kent-town centre
  • Gainsborough, Lincolnshire-industrial estates
  • Gateshead, Tyne and Wear-Team Valley industrial estate
  • Gateshead, Tyne and Wear-town centre
  • Gloucester, Gloucestershire-city centre
  • Hadleigh and Sudbury, Suffolk-town centres
  • Harlow, Essex-town centre
  • Harrogate, North Yorkshire-town centre
  • Harrow, London borough-town centre
  • Havant, Hampshire-town centre
  • Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, Dyfed-town centre
  • Hereford, Herefordshire-city centre
  • High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire-town centre
  • Hillingdon, London borough-mobile CCTV system
  • 167
  • Hitchin and Letchworth, Hertfordshire-town centre and business park
  • Hounslow, London borough-town centre
  • Hull, Humberside-Sutton Fields industrial estate
  • Hyde, Greater Manchester-town centre
  • Ilkeston, Derbyshire-town centre
  • Islington, London borough-Archway mall
  • Keighley, West Yorkshire-town centre
  • Kettering, Northamptonshire-town centre
  • Kirkby, Merseyside-railway station
  • Kirton, nr. Boston, Lincolnshire-town centre
  • Lancaster, Lancashire-city centre
  • Ledbury, Worcestershire-High street
  • Lichfield, Staffordshire-town centre
  • Loughborough, Leicestershire-town centre
  • Maidstone, Kent-town centre
  • Mansfield, Nottinghamshire-town centre
  • Market Harborough, Leicestershire-town centre
  • Moira, North West Leicestershire-village centre
  • Morecambe, Lancashire-seafront
  • Nailsea, Bristol, Avon-Crown Glass Centre
  • Neston, Cheshire-town centre
  • Newhaven, Sussex-town centre
  • Newquay, Cornwall-town centre
  • North Walthamstow, London borough-Webbs industrial estate,
  • Higham Lodge business centre and Blackhorse mews
  • Penrith, Cumbria-town centre
  • Peterborough, Cambridgeshire-town centre
  • Portsmouth, Hampshire-Fawcett road shopping area
  • Rhondda, Mid Glamorgan-Fawr road, Ystrad neighbourhood scheme
  • Richmond, London borough-town centre
  • Rochdale, Lancashire-town centre
  • Rochester, Kent-Business Estate
  • Rugby, Staffordshire-town centre
  • Salisbury, Wiltshire-town centre
  • Sandwich, Kent-town centre
  • Scarborough, North Yorkshire-town centre
  • Sheffield, South Yorkshire-Lower Don Valley industrial area
  • Shrewsbury, Shropshire-town centre
  • Solihull, West Midlands-town centre
  • South Bank, Cleveland-Skippers Lane Indsutrial Estate
  • Spelthorne, London borough-Sunbury Cross Shopping Centre
  • Stevenage, Hertfordshire-town centre
  • Stockton, Cleveland-Mill Lane Primary School
  • Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire-town centre
  • Tamworth Staffordshire-town centre
  • Thetford, Norfolk-town centre
  • Tiverton, Devon-town centre
  • Tiverton, Devon-business park
  • Tonbridge and West Malling, Kent-town centres
  • Torquay, Devon-town centre
  • Truro, Cornwall-town centre
  • Wakefield, West Yorkshire-Outwood Grange school
  • West Glamorgan-mobile CCTV system
  • West Wiltshire-mobile CCTV system
  • Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear-town centre
  • Wigan, Lancashire-town centre
  • 168
  • Wokingham, Berkshire-town centre
  • Worcester, Worcestershire-city centre
  • York, North Yorkshire-city centre


Areas in which CCTV schemes were funded:

  • Birmingham, West Midlands-city centre
  • Bradford, West Yorkshire-sports centre
  • Coventry, West Midlands-city centre, car parks and community centres
  • Derby, Derbyshire-city centre and school
  • Hammersmith, London borough-Shepherds Bush green and market area
  • Hartlepool, Cleveland-industrial estate, car park and college
  • Hull, Humberside-car park and bus station
  • Leicester, Leicstershire-city centre
  • Middlesbrough, Cleveland-town centre
  • Nottingham, Nottinghamshire-portable system
  • Rhyl, Clwyd-White Rose centre
  • Sunderland, Tyne and Wear-port, residential area, portable system, wildlife area
  • Wandsworth, London borough-shopping centre, high street, park and railway station
  • Wolverhampton, West Midlands-hospital, residential area and pub

Mr. O'Brien

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department what is the amount of money the Government are providing for closed circuit television in town centres in the last year for which information is available; and if he will make a statement. [26267]

Mr. Maclean

In 1995, £5 million was paid to 106 winners in the first closed circuit television challenge competition. Over the next three years, my Department intends to distribute a further £45 million to help establish CCTV schemes in England and Wales.

Mr. O'Brien

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department what is the maximum amount his Department is able to grant an individual local authority for city centre closed circuit television; and if he will make a statement. [26271]

Mr. Maclean

The bidding guidance for the current closed circuit television challenge competition specifies that no scheme will receive more than £250,000.