HC Deb 14 December 1994 vol 251 cc656-7W
Mr. Tipping

To ask the President of the Board of Trade if he will list the current members of the energy advisory panel; if he will give details of their background and expertise; and on what dates the panel has met since March 1993.

Mr. Charles Wardle

The current members of the energy advisory panel, with their relevant background, are as follows:


Sir Martin Holdgate Member of Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution; formerly Director General of the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources. Formerly Chief Scientist, Department of the Environment. Recent Chairman of the Renewable Energy Advisory Group.


Lady Mary Archer Chairman of the National Energy Foundation. A specialist on solar energy and formerly a member of the REAG.

Ron Campbell Formerly Managing Director of Babcock Energy and Director of the Nuclear Power Group, both leading suppliers to the electricity supply industry. Now a consultant. Member of the Department's former Advisory Council on Energy Research and Development and of NII's Advisory Council on the Safety of Nuclear Installations.

Tony Cooper General Secretary of EMA, Engineers' and Managers' Association. Electrical Power Engineer's Association. The EMA has strong links with the nuclear and electricity supply industries.

Nigel Evans Managing Director, Caminus Energy Ltd. An energy economist, specialising in the electricity industry. Consultant to the Coal Review. Formerly a member of ACORD.

David Green MBE Director of the Combined Heat and Power Association. He was a founder of Neighbourhood Energy Action.

Dieter Helm Oxford Economic Research Associates. Energy economist.

Peter Ibbotson Director, Store Format Group, Sainsbury plc. His responsibilities include energy efficiency.

Professor Alexander Kemp Department of Economics, University of Aberdeen. A specialist on the economics of oil production.

Sam Laidlaw Managing Director of Amerada Hess (UK) Ltd. Former President of the United Kingdom Offshore Operators' Association.

Mike Parker Formerly Director of Economics, British Coal. Now a consultant.

Paul Rich Managing Director, Allied Steel and Wire Ltd. Represents large energy users.

Lynda Rouse Currently Managing Director, Corporate Finance, Barclays de Zoete Wedd Ltd. Lead adviser on the privatisation of the Scottish electricity supply industry.

Ann Scully Vice-Chairman, National Consumers Council, and Chairman Domestic Coal Consumer's Council.

Anthony White Head of Corporate Strategy, National Grid Company.

Professor Alan Williams Department of Fuel and Energy, Leeds University. An expert on combustion. Recently Chaired the Watt Committee study of methane emissions. Was a special adviser to the Coal Inquiry by the Trade and Industry Select Committee.

Since the membership of the energy advisory panel was announced on 27 October 1993, it has met on seven occasions: on 23 November 1993; and on 10 February, 25 March, 28 June, 30 September, 25 October, and 8 December 1994.