HL Deb 14 April 1994 vol 553 c100WA
Lord Brougham and Vaux

asked Her Majesty's Government:

What is their decision on the Dartmoor National Park Boundary Variation Order submitted to them by the Countryside Commission.

The Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department of the Environment (The Earl of Arran)

My right honourable friend the Secretary of State for the Environment, has today confirmed, with modifications, the order to vary the boundary of the Dartmoor National Park. The Commission proposed 16 additions and 11 deletions, aimed at aligning the boundary with new trunk roads (the A30(T) and the A38(T)) and adding small areas of common land which are subject to the Dartmoor Commons Act 1985. The modifications made to the order by my right honourable friend the Secretary of State for the Environment retain two small areas proposed for deletion at Whistley Cottage and Cheriton Bishop. In the china clay area, land at Lee Moor will be deleted and at Shaugh Moor added, thereby retaining within the park those areas subject to the order which are presently unworked and whose landscape remains of national importance.