HC Deb 15 February 1993 vol 219 cc78-9W
Mr. Wigley

To ask the Secretary of State for Health what is the current membership of the advisory group on rehabilitation; what are its revised terms of reference; and if she will make a statement.

Mr. Yeo

The current membership of the advisory group on rehabilitation is: Lord Holderness(Chairman), Mrs. Mary Baker, Professor Anne Chamberlain, Mrs. Anne Davies, Miss Nadia Deadman, Dr. Pamela Enderby, Mr. Stuart Fletcher, Lord McColl, Professor Lindsey McLellan, Miss Carol Underwood, Miss Anne Walker and Dr. Karen Waters.

The task of the advisory group on rehabilitation is to advise the Department of Health on the most effective means of promoting the development of rehabilitation in England and achieving its recognition as a key area in the strategy for health. This will cover topics such as collaboration between statutory and voluntary bodies; the tasks which fall to health authorities in their purchasing role; research; specialised education and training of rehabilitation professionals and the conduct of a programme of collaborative development work with the national health service.