HC Deb 02 December 1993 vol 233 cc703-4W
Mr. Fatchett

To ask the Secretary of State for Health what is the membership of her committee on the ethics of gene therapy; and if she will list each member's current professional position.

Mr. Sackville

The Committee on the Ethics of Gene Therapy was disbanded on 19 November 1993. It has been replaced by the Gene Therapy Advisory Committee, which met for the first time on 22 November 1993.

The new committee is chaired by Professor Dame June Lloyd DBE, MD, FRCP formerly Professor of Child Health at the Institute of Child Health, and a past-president of the British Paediatric Association.

The membership of the Gene Therapy Advisory Committee was announced on 15 November 1993.

The 16 members of the Committee are: Dr. Elizabeth Anionwu, PhD, RGN, HV Tutor-Lecturer in Community Genetic Counselling, Institute of Child Health: Mrs. Rosemary Barnes,—Director, "Wellbeing"; Professor Martin Bobrow, DSc, MB, BCh, FRCP FRCPath— Prince Philip Professor of Paediatric Research, United Medical and Dental Schools of Guy's and St. Thomas's Hospitals, University of London; Professor Derek Crowther, PhD, MB, BChir., MA, MSc, FRCP, FRCR—Professor of Medical Oncology, Christie HospitaE and Holt Radium Institute and University of Manchester; Professor Anthony Dayan, MD, FRCP, FRCPath., FFPM, FIBiol.—Professor of Toxicology, University of London; Director, Department of Toxicology, St. Bartholomew's Hospital Medical College; The Rev. Canon Dr. Keith Denison—Director of Education for Diocese of Monmouth and Vicar of Whitson, Newport; Dr. Brenda Gibson, MB, ChB, MRCP, MRCPath., DFM— Consultant Haematologist, Royal Hospital for Sick Children, Glasgow; Mrs. Rosemary Knights, RGN, OND, DN—Chief Executive, Warrington Hospital NHS Trust. Previously Regional Nursing Officer, Mersey RHA; Professor Peter Lachmann, FRCP, FRCPath., FRS—Professor of Immunology, University of Cambridge; Dr. Theresa Marteau, MSc, PhD, CPsychol—Head, Psychology and Genetics Research Unit, UMDS, London; Professor Norman Nevin, BSc, MD, FRCP, FRCPath—Professor of Medical Genetics Queen's University Belfast from 1975 to date; Miss Eleanor Platt QC; Dr. Brian Richards, BSc, PhD—Chairman, British Biotechnology Group; Mr. Nick Ross—Broadcaster and journalist; Dr. Michael Steel, MB, ChB, PhD, DSc, FRCPEd, MRCPath —MRC Human Genetics Unit Edinburgh. From 1 January 1994, Professor in Medical Science, St. Andrews University; Professor Robin Weiss, PhD, FRCPath., Hon. MPCP—Professor of Viral Oncology and Director of Research, Chester Beatty Laboratories Institute of Cancer Research, University of London.

Forward to