HC Deb 02 December 1993 vol 233 cc651-2W
Mr. Wareing

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment which houses, designated as defective under defective housing legislation, are now capable of having those defects rectified; which houses are awaiting a system of treatment to be discovered; and if he will make a statement.

Sir George Young

Under part XVI of the Housing Act 1985 eligible owners of all 24 designated house types can have their homes reinstated by substantial demolition and reconstruction if the local authority determines this is a practicable and cost effective solution. Repair schemes meeting the requirements of the legislation are available for all designated house types except Boswell, Dyke, Stonecrete, Underdown, and Waller.

Mr. Wareing

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will list the types of houses currently designated under defective housing legislation.

Sir George Young

The following 24 types of dwellings have been designated defective under part XVI of the Housing Act 1985:

  • Airey
  • Boot
  • Boswell
  • Cornish Unit
  • Dorran
  • Dyke
  • Gregory
  • Myton
  • Newland
  • Orlit
  • Parkinson
  • Reema Hollow Panel
  • Schindler and Hawksley SGS
  • Smith
  • Stent
  • Stonecrete
  • Tarran
  • Underdown
  • Unity and Butterley
  • Waller
  • Wates
  • Wessex
  • Winget
  • Woolaway