HC Deb 11 June 1991 vol 192 cc479-80W
Mrs. Irene Adams

To ask the Secretary of State for the Environment what criteria are used to designate a listed building in each category.

Sir George Young

There are three categories of listed building in England and they are classified in three grades to show their relative importance as follows:

  • Grade I —Buildings of exceptional interest.
  • Grade II*—Particularly important buildings of more than special interest.
  • 480
  • Grade II —Buildings of special interest, which warrant every effort being made to preserve them.

Principles of selection and grading are more fully explained in appendix 1 to my Department's circular 8/87 "Historic Buildings and Conservation Areas—Policy and Procedures".