HL Deb 03 July 1989 vol 509 c1058WA
Baroness Burton of Coventry

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Further to their Answer on 23rd June 1988, what progress has been made to secure effective co-ordination between the European Community and those European states not in the Community on the problems of European aviation in the 1990s, with particular reference to air traffic control; and which of the 10 non-EC countries have indicated their willingness to co-ordinate.

The Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department of Transport (Lord Brabazon of Tara)

In the air traffic control field, in Europe the key co-ordinating bodies are ICAO's European Air Navigation Planning Group (EANPG) and Eurocontrol. Eighteen countries in East and West Europe belong to the EANPG, and 11 Western European countries belong to Eurocontrol. The Government are in favour of expanding the membership of Eurocontrol to other West European countries. The European Civil Aviation Conference (ECAC), which comprises all 12 EC countries and 10 others, provides a regular forum for discussion of civil aviation matters of concern to Western European countries in general. Of the 10 non-EC countries which are members of ECAC, Malta and Turkey are members of Eurocontrol; Austria, Norway, Sweden and Switzerland have signed co-operation agreements with Eurocontrol; and Finland, Norway, Sweden, Turkey, Yugoslavia are members of the EANPG.