HL Deb 04 May 1988 vol 496 cc672-3WA
Viscount Dilhorne

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Whether they are able to announce whom the Lord Chancellor will be appointing to the proposed Legal Aid Board.

The Lord Chancellor (Lord Mackay of Clashfern)

I have today appointed John Pitts, who retired last year as Chairman and Chief Executive of the Tioxide. Group, to be Chairman of the proposed Legal Aid Board, and the following to be members:

  • Martin Acland
  • Diana Beale
  • Allan Blake
  • Hilary Bradley
  • Lyn Devonald
  • Kenneth Farrow
  • Suzette Harold
  • Geoffrey Hibbert
  • David Sinker
  • John Smith
  • Peter Soar

I regard it as important that the board should have adequate time in which to prepare for taking over responsibility for those functions currently exercised by the Legal Aid Administration of the Law Society. I intend that this transfer should take place early in 1989. Therefore, I have made the appointments with immediate effect, although they are, or course, contingent on the Legal Aid Bill's receiving the approval of Parliament.