HL Deb 01 December 1988 vol 502 c473WA
Lord O'Hagan

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Which areas and regions of the United Kingdom will be eligible for assistance from Objective 5(b) of the newly merged Structural Funds.

The Secretary of State for Trade and Industry (Lord Young of Graffham)

The European Commission has so far undertaken that the Highlands and Islands of Scotland, rural Wales and the Assisted Areas of Devon and Cornwall will be eligible. We await the Commission's decisions on the eligibility of other areas.