HC Deb 21 October 1987 vol 120 cc793-4W
Ms. Richardson

asked the Chancellor of the Exchequer whether he will list (a) the members of the National Economic Development Council, (b) the criteria for selection of members, (c) the relevant qualifications of present members, (d) the number of Trades Union Congress-nominated places and (e) how many Trades Union Congress-nominated places are held by women.

Mr. Lawson

Apart from myself, the current members of the National Economic Development Council are:

  • The Secretary of State for Employment
  • The Secretary of State for the Environment
  • The Secretary of State for Trade and Industry
  • The Secretary of State for Education and Science
  • The Secretary of State for Energy

Mr. J. M. M. Banham Director General of the Confederationof British Industry
Mr. R. Bickerstaffe General Secretary of the National Union of Public Employees
>Mr. J. S. Cassels, CB Director General of the National Economic Development Office
Mr. J. Edmonds General Secretary of the General, Municipal, Boilermakers and Allied Trades Union
Sir Robert Haslam Chairman of British Coal
Mr. C. Jenkins General Secretary of the Association of Scientific Technical and Managerial Staffs
Mr. W. Jordan President of the Amalgamated Engineering Union
The Rt. Hon. Robin Leigh-Pemberton Governor of the Bank of England
Dr. J. S. McFarlane CBE Director General of the Engineering Employers' Federation
The Lord Marshall of Goring, CBE, FRS Chairman of the Central Electricity Generating Board
Mr. D. A. G. Monk Chairman and Chief Executive, The Dee Corporation plc
Sir Bryan Nicholson Chairman of the Manpower Services Commission
Sir David Nickson, KPE, DL President of the Confederation of British Industry and Chairman of Scottish and Newcastle Breweries plc
Mr. T. J. O'Connor Chairman and Managing Director, ELTA Plastics Ltd.
Sir Thomas Risk Governor of the Bank of Scotland
Mr. R. Todd General Secretary of the Transport and General Workers Union
Mrs. R. E. Waterhouse, CBE Chairman of the Consumers Association
Mr. N. Willis General Secretary of the Trades Union Congress

There are no specific qualifications for NEDC membership. I appoint members because they are likely to make valuable contributions to the council's discussions of industrial and economic matters, taking into account the views of the CBI and TUC.

Six of the present NEDC members were nominated by the TUC. None of these are women.