HC Deb 21 October 1987 vol 120 cc829-30W
Mr. Haselhurst

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment whether he will list the district councils in England, Scotland and Wales that do not have glass recycling programmes; and if he will make a statement.

Mr. Moynihan

Records of glass recycling schemes are not maintained centrally. Schemes may be run by a variety of bodies—district or borough councils, waste disposal authorities, town councils or voluntary groups. However, the Glass Manufacturers' Federation has provided the following list of district or borough councils showing those authorities which do not themselves operate bottle bank schemes. Some of the councils listed hope to start schemes in the next few months. The viability of a recycling scheme depends to a large extent on the ease of transport to the processing plant which is why it has been difficult to establish schemes in some of the more remote areas.

I have been pleased to see an encouraging increase in both the number of bottle banks in use and the amount of glass collected. The glass industry and local authorities are committed to doubling the number of bottle banks in the country in the five years from 1986 to give an average of one for every 10,000 people. This is an important element in the United Kingdom's programme for implementing the EEC directive on containers of liquids for human consumption.

ENGLAND—County and District

Avon Wansdyke

Cambridgeshire South Cambridgeshire


  • Vale Royal (Northwich Town Council operates scheme)
  • Halton

Cleveland Langbaugh


  • Bolsover
  • North East Derbyshire
  • South Derbyshire


  • Derwentside
  • Easington
  • Sedgefield
  • Wear Valley
  • Teesdale

Hampshire Gosport

Hereford and Worcester South Herefordshire


  • Blaby
  • Melton Mowbray


  • Bexley
  • Bromley
  • Kensington and Chelsea
  • Wandsworth

Merseyside Knowsley

Norfolk Broadland

Northamptonshire Corby

Nottinghamshire Ashfield

Oxfordshire South Oxfordshire (Henley Town Council operates scheme)

Surrey Epsom and Ewell

Tyne and Wear

  • Newcastle-upon-Tyne
  • South Tyneside Gateshead
  • Sunderland

Wiltshire North Wiltshire (Wootton Bassett own Council operates scheme)

SCOTLAND—County and District


  • Badenoch and Strathspey
  • Inverness
  • Lochaber
  • Nairn
  • Ross and Cromarty
  • Skye and Lochalsh
  • Sutherland

Orkney Islands Council

Shetland Islands Council

Strathclyde Argyll and Bute

WALES—County and District


  • Alyn and Deeside
  • Delyn Glyndwr
  • Rhuddlan
  • Wrexham Maelor


  • Dinefwr
  • Llanelli
  • Preseli Pembrokeshire
  • South Pembrokeshire

Mid Glamorgan Cynon Valley

South Glamorgan Vale of Glamorgan

West Glamorgan

  • Lliw Valley
  • Neath
  • Port Talbot


  • Aberconwy
  • Arforn Dwyfor
  • Meirionnydd
  • Ynys Mon/Isle of Angelesey

Powys Montgomery