HC Deb 21 October 1987 vol 120 cc739-41W
Ms. Richardson

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science whether he will list (a) the members of the Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education, (b) the criteria for selection of members, (c) the relevant qualifications of present members, (d) the number of Trades Union Congress-nominated places and (e) how many Trades Union Congress-nominated places are taken up by women.

Mrs. Rumbold

The membership of the Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education is as follows:

Professor William Taylor (Chairman)

Vice Chancellor, University of Hull

Professor Anthony Becher

Professor of Education, University of Sussex

Mr. Andrew Collier

Chief Education Officer, Lancashire County Council

Dr. Marion Giles-Jones

Lecturer in Modern Languages, Department of Education, University of Wales

Dr. Mary Hallaway

Principal, Trinity and All Saints College, Leeds

Mr. Gordon McIntyre

Northern Ireland Regional Director, Open University

Mr. Renford Bambrough

Fellow of St. John's College, Cambridge

Mr. Angus Clark

Board Director of Personnel, J. Sainsbury plc

Mr. Michael Dixon

Education Correspondent, Financial Times

Mr. Peter Griffin

Adviser, South Glamorgan, Local Education Authority

Mr. Alistair Lawton

Deputy Leader, Kent County Council

Dr. Bernice Martin

Reader in Sociology, Royal Holloway and Bedford New College, University of London

Dr. Derek Mortimer

Principal, Suffolk College of Higher and Further Education

Mr. Michael Pipes

Headmaster, City of Portsmouth Boys' School

Dr. David Shadbolt

Principal, Worcester College of Higher Education

Dr. David Winkley

Head, Grove Junior School, Handsworth

Councillor Patrick Mullany

Chairman, Doncaster Education Committee

Mr. Peter Scott

Principal Inspector, Schools, Lincolnshire

Mr. Peter Ward

Personnel Director (UK), Hewlett Packard

Mr. William Wright

Chief Education Officer, Wakefield

Appointments to the council are made by the Secretaries of State for Education and Science, and for Wales on a personal basis. The criteria for selection of members were set out in Department of Education and Science circular 3/84, Welsh Office circular 21/84: The membership of the Council will be drawn mainly from practising school teachers, teacher trainers and elected members of local education authorities, with the aim of giving the Secretaries of State the benefit of the advice of experienced professionals with a broad knowledge of the best practice in teacher education. It will also be desirable to facilitate links through the membership with the other main bodies concerned with the location, scale and quality of teacher education.

The council at present consists of five staff of teacher training institutions; four other higher education members; three teachers; six members or officers of local education authorities and three other members. One teacher member is also a councillor. Two LEA members and one teacher trainer member were originally appointed while serving teachers. There are no Trades Union Congress-nominated places on the council.

Forward to