HC Deb 21 October 1987 vol 120 cc785-6W
Ms. Richardson

asked the Minister for the Arts whether he will (a) list the members of the Arts Council executive, (b) state the criteria for selection of members, (c) list the relevant qualifications of present members, (d) indicate the number of Trades Union Congress-nominated places, and (e) indicate how many Trades Union Congress-nominated places are held by women.

Mr. Luce

The information requested is as follows.

(a) the members of the Arts Council are:

  • Sir William Rees Mogg (Chairman)
  • James Cooke
  • Michael Clarke
  • John Cornwell
  • Ronald Grierson
  • Robin Guthrie
  • Pamela, The Lady Harlech
  • Denys Hodson, CBE
  • Gavin Jantjes
  • Philip Jones, CBE
  • James Logan
  • Clare Mulholland
  • Colin Nears
  • Sir Alan Peacock, DSC, FBA
  • Mathew Prichard
  • Sir Brian Rix, CBE
  • Sir Roy Strong
  • Elizabeth Thomas
  • Dr Robert Woof
  • Sir Brian Young

(b) and (c)Members are appointed by the Minister, who takes into account the need for a balance of experience and regional representation, including knowledge of specialist art forms, a wide interest in the arts, and commitment to the council's aims and objectives.

(d) and (e)Representation is not by group or sectional interest. There are no Trades Union Congress-nominated places.

Forward to