HL Deb 11 March 1987 vol 485 cc1129-30WA

The EEC Treaty provides for qualified (i.e. weighted) majority voting under some Articles, including Article 75 on inland transport. Voting weights are:-

Germany, France, Italy, UK 10
Spain 8
Belgium, Portugal, Netherlands Greece 5
Ireland, Denmark 3
Luxembourg 2
Total 76
Thus 54 votes are required to carry a measure, and 23 votes to form a blocking minority.