HC Deb 26 June 1985 vol 81 cc411-2W
49. Mr. Weetch

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs if he will list those foreign policy areas in which the European Economic Community has adopted a common stand since 1983.

Sir Geoffrey Howe

Ministers of the Ten meeting in political co-operation have issued statements on the following topics since the end of 1983.

  1. 1. East/West relations (arms control and Soviet/Western dialogue).
  2. 2. The Arab/Israel conflict and the situation in Lebanon.
  3. 3. The Iran/Iraq conflict.
  4. 4. Central America and the Contadora process.
  5. 5. Terrorism and the abuse of diplomatic immunity.
  6. 6. South Africa (on the policy of apartheid).
  7. 7. Progress at the conference on disarmament in Europe.
  8. 8. The conference on security and co-operation in Europe and implementation of the Helsinki final act.
  9. 9. The political situation in Chile.
  10. 10. The political situation in Poland.
  11. 11. The situation in Afghanistan.
  12. 12. The political situation in Cyprus.
  13. 13. Mozambique and the Nkomati accord.
  14. 14. Military disengagement in southern Angola.
  15. 15. The situation in Namibia.
  16. 16. The political and economic situation in the Sudan.
  17. 17. Human rights abuses.
  18. 18. The agreement on the future of Hong Kong.
  19. 19. The "London Guidelines' for trade in nuclear materials, equipment and technology.
  20. 20. Controls on the export of chemical weapons.
  21. 21. The implementation of reform in UNESCO.

Copies of the statements were placed in the Library of the House when they were issued.

Back to