HC Deb 05 February 1985 vol 72 cc499-500W
Mr. Maclennan

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland if he will list in the Official Report the names and locations of areas of land of 10 hectares or more in Caithness and Sutherland which have received approval for planting grants under the forestry grants scheme since that scheme began, giving the acreage in each case.

Mr. John MacKay

The information covering the period from 1 October 1981 to February 1985 is as follows:

Name of Estate Location Area approved for planting (hectares)
Borrobol Borrobol Forest 15
Coille a Druim Overscaig 65
Coille Chaol Overscaig 87
Coille Clais Charnach Overscaig 408
Coille Linne Overscaig 74
Coille Oisinn Overscaig 57
Coille Righ Overscaig 212
Grants Wood Overscaig 53
Fiag A Tuath Overscaig 54
Strath Duchally Overscaig 116
Meall Odhar Overscaig 46
Griamha Overscaig 46
Tothel Gill North of Keiss 163
Mireland West of Keiss 164
Glebeland at Farr East of Bettyhill 58
Coille am Bodach Strathy Forest 453
Coille a Chailleach Strathy Forest 220
Coille A Fhithich Strathy Forest 189
Dubh Chlais Strathy Forest 91
Phillips Mains Near Mey 72
The Brig Forsinard 230
Cross Lochs Forsinard 427
The Dale Forsinard 312
The Dyke Forsinard 448
The Hope Forsinard 1,107
Stroupster East North west of Keiss 199
Stroupster West North west of Keiss 198
Altnabreac Near Altnabreac station 1,543
Jubilee Wood North east of Loch Shin 50
Gordonbush Strath Brora 14

Name of Estate Location Area approved for planting (hectares)
Blindburn West of Keiss 99
Bhrochain West of Invercassley 140
Brae West of Invercassley 148
Buillsgean West of Invercassley 42
Cam Bheag West of Invercassley 42
Cam Mor West of Invercassley 255
Dhonnadh West of Invercassley 154
Innis Beithe West of Invercassley 102
Oisean West of Invercassley 49
Rosail West of Invercassley 148
Thurnaig West of Invercassley 40
Tutim West of Invercassley 130
Bhaird Forsinard 97
Crubag Forsinard 78
Fasach Forsinard 146
Fideag Forsinard 52
Leir orsinard 80
Talaheel Forsinard 373
Casan Forsinard 74
Imriche Forsinard 156
Baronaheigh Near Shebster 16
Rosehall Hill West of Lairg 665
Merkland North east of Loch Skin 59
Coille Nam Breac Forsinard 53
Cutting Forsinard 176
Loch Dubh Forsinard 39
Theararg Forsinard 50
Abhainn Bheag Forsinard 55
Gleann Nam Beist Forsinard 58
The Gunn Forsinard 225
Mackay A' Tuath Forsinard 110
Bad Coille Strathy Forest 179
Coille Buidhe Strathy Forest 298
Coille Nan Clach Strathy Forest 161
Coille Fada Strathy Forest 166
Coille Meadhonach Strathy Forest 99
Coille An Reidhe Strathy Forest 226
Coille Am Sealbach Strathy Forest 264
Coille A Saobhaidhe Strathy Forest 309
Lochdhu Near Altnabreac station 989

To date, grants have been paid in respect of a total of 4,136 hectares of planting on these properties.