HC Deb 17 April 1985 vol 77 cc213-4W
Mr. Dobson

asked the Secretary of State for Social services if he will (a) list the members of the Committee on Gynaecological Cytology since 1 January 1981, (b) give the dates when it has met since 1 January 1981 and(c) place in the Library any minutes of its meetings, official recommendations or other communications with Ministers or officials of his Department since 1 January 1981.

Mr. Kenneth Clarke

[pursuant to his reply, 4 April 1985, c. 77]: The information is as follows:

  1. (a) The membership of the Committee on Gynaecological Cytology since 1 January 1981 has included:
    • Mr. R. W. Burslem
    • Dr. D. M. D. Evans
    • Dr. E. Blanche Butler
    • Mr. J. A. Jordan
    • Dr. A. S. Woodcock
    • Mrs. W. J. A. Francis
    • 214
    • Dr. G. J. Draper
    • Professor E. G. Knox
    • Professor Alwyn Smith
    • Dr. W. G. A. Riddle
    • Dr. Elizabeth A. Hudson
    • Dr. K. J. Randall
    • Mr. K. R. Peel
    • Dr. Jocelyn Chamberlain
    • Dr. J. N. Todd
    • Professor B. M. Hibbard
    • Dr. K. McPherson
    • Professor J. M. Elwood
  2. (b) The committee has met on the following occasions since 1 January 1981:
    • 1 April 1981
    • 23 September 1981
    • 18 March 1982
    • 10 December 1982
    • 10 October 1983
    • 3 April 1984
  3. (c) Copies of the committee's report on the age and frequency of screening (September 1981) and of the current guidance to health authorities, health circulars (81)14 and (84)17, have been placed in the Library of the House. We do not usually publish guidance to Ministers from committees of this kind and minutes of their meetings. We will continue to make available any reports we receive from the committee, as these are the most useful documents for the public.