HC Deb 20 December 1983 vol 51 c190W
Mr. Frank Cook

asked the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland if he will list those sites which have been authorised for the disposal of radioactive waste in the past year by the Northern Ireland Office under the provisions of the Radioactive Substances Act 1960; from which specified premises; for which specified wastes; and if he will list the owners of each site.

Mr. Chris Patten

[pursuant to his reply, 5 December 1983, c. 831: A total of eight specified premises, including three higher education establishments, three hospitals and two private companies are authorised by Department of Environment (Northern Ireland) under the Radioactive Substances Act 1960 to dispose of small quantities of radioactive waste by controlled burial at local authority refuse disposal sites. Three disposals were made in 1982; the wastes authorised included sulphur 35, chromium 51 and iodine 125.