HC Deb 30 July 1982 vol 28 cc757-8W
Mr. David Young

asked the Secretary of State for Employment if he will publish in the Official Report a list of all appointments made by the Manpower Services Commission since 1979 which affect Bolton, giving the names of the appointees and their occupations.

Mr. Peter Morrison

The following individuals were appointed to the Bolton and Wigan manpower committee, the Bolton and Wigan committee for employment of disabled people, and the Greater Manchester special programmes area board, which covers the Bolton area. Details of the occupations of appointees are not held by the MSC but the bodies which nominated them are given.

Bolton and District Manpower Committee

  • Chairman - Mr. W. H. Jones

representing the local authorities

  • Councillor A. Heckles JP
  • Councillor W. Hardman
  • Councillor P. J. McFadden

representing employers

  • Mr. S. Irwin
  • >Mr. A. Marsland
  • Mr. L. Sharples
  • Mr. P. Jackson
  • Mr. D. Hignett

representing employees

  • Mrs. D. Alldred
  • Mr. W. Bridge
  • Mr. T. Lord
  • Mr. H. Collier
  • Mr. B. Dagnall

representing training interests

  • Mr. E. Whittle

representing professional education interests

  • Mr. C. H. Minta
  • Mr. J. R. Lewis

representing the local CEDP

  • Mr. J. H. Openshaw

Past Members

representing employees

  • Councillor F. Waterworth
  • Councillor K. Price

representing professional education interests

  • Mr. M. Emerson


  • Chairman - Mr. J. H. Openshaw

representing employers

  • Mr. P. J. Blount
  • 758
  • Mr. J. Drinnan
  • Mr. D. Elliott
  • Miss A. Jones
  • Mr. R. Sivill

representing employees

  • Councillor D. G. Close
  • Mr. K. Disley
  • Mr. V. France
  • Mr. C. Morrison
  • Mr. C. Spinks

representing the local authority

  • Councillor M. Atkinson

representing the medical interests

  • Dr. S. L. Geogham

representing the sheltered workshop

  • Mr. S. Heap

representing other organisations

  • Mr. R. Poynter

representing voluntary organisation

  • Mr. G. E. Tattan


  • Chairman - Mr. C. Barnett

representing employers

  • Mr. W. Annandale
  • Mr. W. Jones

representing employees

  • Mr. E. Hughes
  • Mr. J. Fairley
  • Mr. E. Baxendale
  • Mr. C. Platt

representing local education authority

  • Mr. J. A. Barnes

representing local authorities

  • Mr. P. A. Collins
  • Mr. C. H. Singleton
  • Mr. B. Hill

representing voluntary organisation

  • Rev. D. J. Atherton

representing the local district manpower committee

  • Mr. W. Ratcliffe

Past Members (all were representing employers)

  • Mrs. A. Mack - 1979–1981
  • Mr. A. J. Pochin - 1979–1981
  • Mr. J. Murdell - resigned March 1982 replacement not yet found.