HL Deb 01 December 1981 vol 425 c1032WA
Lord Duncan-Sandys

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Whether they will publish a list of the conservation areas in England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

The Earl of Avon

I regret that the information for England is not available in list form. There are over 5,000 conservation areas in England, but to prepare a list of their names would involve a disproportionate amount of staff time and expenditure which could not be justified. There are about 300 conservation areas in Wales and over 400 in Scotland. While lists are not published, they are available on request. Copies will be sent to the noble Lord.

There are 16 conservation areas in Northern Ireland and their names are given below:—

County Antrim Gracehill
Antrim (Riverside)
County Down Hillsborough
County Armagh Armagh City
County Londonderry Moneymore
Londonderry (Walled City)
Londonderry (Clarendon Street)
County Tyrone Sion Mills

House adjourned at twelve minutes past ten o'clock.