HC Deb 05 July 1978 vol 953 cc191-2W

asked the Secretary of State for Employment if he will state in the Official Report when the appointment of each member of the Advisory Conciliation and Arbitration Service will be due for renewal or termination; and what proposals he has for changing the composition of the council of the Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service.

Mr.Harold Walker

The present appointments of the chairman and members of the ACAS council will expire on the following dates:

Mr. J. E. Mortimer (Chairman) 1.9.79
Professor H. A. Clegg 1.9.78
Mr H. G. DeVille 1.9.78
Mr. L. F. Edmundson 1.9.78
Mr. H. L Farrimond, CBE 1.9.78
Professor L C. Hunter 1.9.78
Mr. J. L. Jones, CH, MBE 1.9.78
Sir George Smith, CBE 1.9.78
Mr. T. A. Swinden, CBE 1.9.78
Professor D. E. C Wedderburn 1.9.80

I am currently consulting the Trade Union Congress and the Confederation of British Industry about six of the appointments to be made from 1st September 1978.