HC Deb 15 November 1977 vol 939 cc144-5W
Mr. Macfarlane

asked the Secretary of State for Energy how many times the Committee of Ministers on energy conservation met in 1977; when the next meeting is arranged; and which departmental Ministers are eligible to attend.

Dr. John A. Cunningham

The Committee of Ministers on Energy Conservation has met five times in 1977. The next meeting will be in December, and Ministers representing the following Departments are members of the Committee: Home Office; Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs; Department of Education and Science; Department of Industry; Northern Ireland Office; Department of the Environment; Scottish Office; Welsh Office; Ministry of Defence; Department of Employment; Department of Health and Social Security; Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food; Department of Prices and Consumer Protection; Department of Transport.

Other Departments are kept in touch with the Committee's work and their Ministers may attend if they wish. The Chairman of the Advisory Council on Energy Conservation is also able to attend. The Committee meets under my chairmanship.

Forward to