HC Deb 28 July 1977 vol 936 cc474-5W
Mr. Austin Mitchell

asked the Secretary of State for Prices and Consumer Protection if he will report to the House on progress in the appointment of the new Price Commission.

Mr. Hattersley

I propose to appoint the following part-time members of the Price Commission:

  • Mr. N. I. Bond-Williams, a director of the Delta Metal Company Limited.
  • Mrs. Mollie Bray, a housewife from Eltham in London.
  • Mr. A. J. Colman, a director within the Burton Group Limited.
  • Miss Brenda Dean, a member of the National Executive of SOGAT.
  • Mr. Alec Donnet, CBE, JP, is Scottish Secretary and formerly National Chairman of the NUGMW.
  • Mr. Harry Hill, Administrative Director of Beecham Products.
  • Sir Noel Larmour, KCMG, formerly a Deputy Under-Secretary of State in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office.
  • Mr. Ronald Richardson, CBE, formerly Deputy Chairman of the Electricity Council.
  • Mrs. Rachel Waterhouse, a member of the National Consumer Council.

In addition, I have re-appointed as part-time members Professor D. C. Hague of the Manchester Business School and Mr. Ian Hay Davison, Managing Partner of Arthur Andersen.

I shall announce the name of the remaining member of the Commission as soon as possible.