HL Deb 15 March 1976 vol 369 cc140-2WA

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Who are serving on:

  1. (a) The Criminal Law Revision Committee; and
  2. (b) The Policy Advisory Committee on Sexual Offences;
and with what organisations, if any, they have been connected.

The MINISTER of STATE, HOME OFFICE (Lord Harris of Greenwich)

Members of both Committees (the membership of which overlaps) are appointed in an individual and not a representative capacity. Names of those appointed are given below, together with brief particulars of relevant professional backgroundet cetera. My right honourable friend does not possess, and would not feel justified in seeking to obtain, comprehensive details of all the organisations, no doubt numerous, with which the members of the two Committees may have been connected.

(a) Criminal Law Revision Committee

The Right Honourable Lord EdmundDavies—a Lord of Appeal in Ordinary (Chairman).

The Right Honourable Lord Justice Lawton—a Lord Justice of Appeal.

The Right Honourable Lord Justice James—a Lord Justice of Appeal. Previously member of the Parole Board, Chairman of Committee on the Distribution of Criminal Business between the Crown Court and Magistrates' Courts; Member of Council of Birmingham University.

The Common Sergeant Mr. J. M. G. Griffith-Jones. MC—Common Sergeant in the City of London.

Sir Ruper Cross—Vinerian Professor of English Law in the University of Oxford.

Mr. John Hazan, QC, JP—Barrister-at-law; Recorder of the Crown Court.

Mr. J. H. Inskip, QC—Barrister-at-law.

Sir Kenneth Jones, CBE—Legal Adviser to the Home Office.

Mrs. N. M. Lowry—a Metropolitan Stipen-diary Magistrate.

Mr. I. C. R. McCullough, QC—Barrister-at-law.

Mr. David Napley—Solicitor, Vice President of the Law Society.

Mr. W. Scott, OBE—Clerk to the Justices, Teesside County Borough.

Sir Norman Skelhorn, KBE, QC—Director of Public Prosecutions.

Professor Glanville Williams, QC—Rouse Ball Professor of English Law in the University of Cambridge.

In addition, Professor J. C. Smith, Professor of Law in the University of Nottingham is a co-opted member for the current references.

(b) Policy Advisory Committee on Sexual Offences

* The Right Honourable Lord Edmund-Davies (Chairman)

The Reverend Dr. Anthony Bird—Principal of Queen's College Birmingham; medical practioner with experience in general practice; recognised lecturer of University of Birmingham.

Mrs. Pauline Crabbe, OBE, JP—Secretary of the London Brook Advisory Centres since 1971.

Mrs. Shirley Lowe (Dineen)—Deputy Editor, Over 21 magazine, previously Woman's Editor, Sunday Mirror, feature writer Daily Express.

Professor Trevor Gibbens, MBE—holds a chair in Forensic Psychiatry at the London University Institute of Psychiatry; a Member of the Advisory Group on the Law of Rape which has recently reported.

*Mr. John Hazan, QC, JP.

Ms. Mary McIntosh—Lecturer in Sociology at Essex University.

*The Right Honourable Lord Justice James.

*Sir Kenneth Jones, CBE.

Mrs. Charlotte Lodge—Principal Social Worker, Leeds Social Service Department.

Miss Jessie Moss—Superintendent, Metropolitan Police.

Baroness Serota, JP—Minister of State (Health) 1969–70. Chairman of the Commission for Local Administration and member of the Advisory Council on the Penal System; formerly President, now Vice-President, National Council for Single Parent Families.

*Professor J. C. Smith.

Mrs. Dorothy Stone—Magistrate and barrister-at-law. Formerly for many years Legal Adviser to the National Council for Women.

Mrs. Sue Winfield—Senior Probation Officer, Co. Durham.

* See particulars of Criminal Law Revision Committee.