HC Deb 23 June 1976 vol 913 cc538-40W
Mr. Forman

asked the Secretary of State for Energy what is the total cost in salaries and fees of the paid public appointments for which he is responsible.

Dr. J. Dickson Mabon

I would refer the hon. Member to the replies given to the hon. Member for Carlton (Mr. Holland) on 29th March last—[Vol. 908, c. 345]—and to my hon. Friend the Member for Hartlepool (Mr. Leadbitter) on 19th May last—[Vol. 911, c. 563].

Mr. Forman

asked the Secretary of State for Energy if he will list the names and previous occupations of all those appointed to the public bodies for which he is responsible.

Dr. J. Dickson Mabon

The details for full-time members are:

Name and Previous Occupation

National Coal Board

  • Sir Derek Ezra, Director General Marketing, NCB
  • Mr. N. Siddall, Director General Production, NCB
  • Mr. L. Grainger, Chief technical and development officer, Richard Thomas & Baldwins Ltd.
  • Mr. G. C. Shephard, Gen. Sec. Colliery Officials and Staffs Area, NUM
  • Mr. F. B. Harrison, Deputy Chief Executive, NCB (Coal Products) Ltd.
  • Mr. W. L. Miron, Regional Chairman, Midlands & South Wales Area, NCB
  • Mr. D. Davies, Area Director, South Wales Area, NCB
  • Mr. L. J. Mills, Area Director, Doncaster Area, NCB

British Gas Corporation

  • Sir Arthur Hetherington, Commercial Manager, Southern Gas Board
  • Mr. D. E. Rooke, Director of Production & Supply, Gas Council
  • Mr. J. A. Buckley, Commercial Manager, North Thames Gas Board
  • Mr. C. E. Mills, Chief Engineer, East Midlands Gas Board
  • Mr. G. F. I. Roberts, Deputy Director (Operations) Production & Supplies Division, Gas Council
  • Mr. J. H. Smith, Director of Finance & Administration, East Midlands Gas Board
  • Mr. R. L. Worsfold, Director of Personnel, Gas Council

United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority

  • Sir John Hill, Manager Director, Production Group, UKAEA, Risley
  • Mr. A. M. Allen, Secretary, UKAEA

British National Oil Corporation

  • Lord Kearton, Chairman of Courtaulds Ltd.

Electricity Council

  • Sir Peter Menzies, Deputy Chairman, ICI Ltd.
  • Mr. H. C. Spear, Director of Personnel Management, Electricity Council.
  • Mr. R. W. Orson, Commercial Adviser, Electricity Council.

Central Electricity Generating Board

  • Sir Arthur Hawkins, Regional Director, Midlands, CEGB.
  • Mr. F. E. Bonner, Chief Finance Officer, CEGB.
  • Mr. R. A. Peddie, Director General, South-East Region, CEGB.
  • Mr. D. R. R. Fair, Director General, Midlands Region, CEGB.

London Electricity Board

  • Mr. O. Francis, Civil servant.
  • Mr. A. Plumpton, Chief commercial engineer, South Wales Electricity Board.

Southern Electricity Board

  • Mr. A. W. Bunch, Portsmouth Area Manager, Southern Electricity Board.
  • Mr. D. H. Walker, Manager, Newbury Area, Southern Electricity Board.

South-Eastern Electricity Board

  • Mr. T. Rutherford, Chief Engineer, North Eastern Electricity Board.
  • Mr. J. A. Wedgwood, Secretary, Electricity Council.

South-Western Electricity Board

  • Mr. G. England, Director General, S. West Region, CEGB.
  • Mr. S. F. C. Whitmore, Manager, Chilterns Sub-Area, Eastern Electricity Board.

Eastern Electricity Board

  • Mr. H. D. B. Wood, Secretary, South-Western Electricity Board.
  • Mr. G. W. Rufford, Manager, Chilterns Group, Eastern Electricity Board.

East Midlands Electricity Board

  • Mr. P. A. Lingard, Commercial and Development Advisor, Electricity Council.
  • Mr. R. A. York, Chief Engineer, East Midlands Electricity Board.

Midlands Electricity Board

  • Mr. G. T. Shepherd, Director of Engineering, South of Scotland Electricity Board.
  • Mr. C. Wickstead, Secretary, Midlands Electricity Board.

Merseyside and North Wales Electricity Board

  • Mr. D. G. Dodds, Industrial Relations Advisor, Electricity Council.
  • Mr. B. R. Hastings, Management Services Controller, South of Scotland Electricity Board.

North-Eastern Electricity Board

  • Mr. A. H. Norris, Civil servant.
  • Mr. G. H. Byrom, Chief Engineer, East Midlands Electricity Board.

North-Western Electricity Board

  • Mr. R. Mallet, Chief Engineer, Midlands Electricity Board.
  • Mr. J. W. K. Evans, Secretary, North-Western Electricity Board.

Yorkshire Electricity Board

  • Mr. E. S. Booth, Chief Design and Construction Eng, CEGB.
  • Mr. K. F. Whittle, Chief Commercial Officer, North Western Electricity Board.

South Wales Electricity Board

  • Mr. W. E. Richardson, Chief Commercial Officer, South Wales Electricity Board.
  • Mr. R. Cook, Chief Accountant, Midlands Electricity Board.

Forward to