HC Deb 26 March 1975 vol 889 cc199-200W
Mr. Ward

asked the Secretary of State for Social Services when she will be appointing the Advisory Committee on Alcoholism.

Dr. Owen

As I announced on 18th September 1974 the Advisory Committee on Alcoholism is to advise, for an experimental period of three years, on services relating to alcoholism and, where appropriate, to promote their development. It is expected that the committee will appoint a special sub-group to play an active part in the planning and development of services for homeless alcoholics. After widespread consultations I have invited the following persons to serve on the committee and they have accepted.

  • Chairman: Professor W. I. N. Kessel
  • Members: Dr. D. I. Acres
  • Mr. F. Adams
  • Mrs. E. Barker
  • Dr. R. Bluglass
  • Mrs. P. Brown
  • Mrs. J. E. Christmas
  • Mr. T. Cook
  • Dr. W. H. R. Cook
  • Dr. D. L. Davies
  • Mr. G. J. Dear
  • Dr. J. Griffith Edwards
  • Father P. Healy
  • Mr. D. Hebblethwaite
  • Dr. H. H. John
  • Mr. G. Lanagan
  • Col. (Dr.) W. T. B. McAllister
  • Mr. G. P. D. Marsh
  • Mr. L. Rushton
  • Mr. D. Rutherford
  • Mr. V. J. P. Scerri
  • Mr. F. E. Strong
  • Mr. D. W. Taylor
  • Sir John Taylor
  • Prof. W. H. Trethowan
  • Miss M. Walton
  • 200
  • Miss M. J. Welch
  • Dr. J. M. Werner
One member to be appointed later as a trade union representative.