HC Deb 14 February 1973 vol 850 cc337-8W
47. Mr. Mather

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment what are the terms of reference for the present inquiry of the Advisory Council on Noise into minimum noise routes; what date it started work; and who are its chairman and members.

Mr. Eldon Griffiths

The Noise Advisory Council has appointed a Working Group on the Use of Minimum Noise Routes with the remitto consider further the policy and practice of using minimum noise routes, in the light of the report 'Aircraft Noise: Flight Routeing Near Airports' (and in particular the recommendation that for the sake of people living under minimum noise routes that there is a need for research to establish if there is a limit to the level of disturbance which people can be asked to accept) and of recent experience, particularly on the Burnham and Mole Valley departure routes from Heathrow; to recommend such variation in the policy and practice as may seem appropriate and to report to the Council".

The chairman of the working group is Mr. E. Epson and the members are Dr. H. H. Gardner, Mr. D. B. Harrison, Dr. C. F. Herridge and Mrs. S. Stern. The first meeting was held on 12th December 1972.