HC Deb 20 December 1973 vol 866 cc438-9W
Mr. Jessel

asked the Secretary of State for Employment if, in view of the fuel shortage, he will make the public holiday on 1st January optional, to enable industrial firms to obtain three consecutive days' production run from 31st December to 2nd January, where such firms are unable to obtain electricity supplies from 3rd to 5th January.

Mr. Chichester-Clark

Industrial firms are free to negotiate such arrangements if they wish.

Areas Covered
53 Stephenson Street, Birmingham B2 4DH. Tel.: 021–643 3344. Herelordshire, Shropshire. Staffordshire. Warwick shire, Worcestershire.
16 St. David's House, Wood Street, Cardiff CF1 1ER. Tel.: Cardiff 396116. Wales and Monmouthshire.
35 Wellington Street, Luton LU1 2SB Tel.: Luton 29215 Bedfordshire, Berkshire, Buckingham, Essex, Hertfordshire, Oxfordshire, Cambridgeshire and Isle of Ely, the County of Huntingdon and Peterborough Norfolk and Suffolk.
22 Newgate Shopping Centre, Newcastle-upon-Tyne NE1 5RH. Tel.: Newcastle 25353. Cumberland, Durham, Northumberland, Westmorland and the North Riding of Yorkshire.
The Pithay, Bristol BS1 2PB. Tel.: Bristol 294546. Cornwall (including Isles of Scilly), Devon. Gloucestershire, Somerset, Wiltshire and Dorset (excluding Poole MB).
Colville House, 120 Bothwell Street, Glasgow G2 6TU (Sub-office of 314 St. Vincent Street). Tel.: 041–248 6014. The whole of Scotland.
City House, New Station Street, Leeds LS1 4JQ. Tel.: Leeds 445151. The East and West Ridings of Yorkshire, the City of York, Lincolnshire (Parts of Lindsey only).
Cromwell House, Dean Stanley Street, London SW1P 3HY. Tel.: 01–828 2384. Greater London, Kent, Surrey, Sussex, Hampshire, Isle of Wight and part of Dorset (Poole MB only).
Sunley Buildings, Piccadilly Plaza, Manchester Ml 4BA. Tel.:061–832 5282. Cheshire, Lancashire and High Peak District of Derbyshire viz.: the boroughs of Buxton and Glossop, the urban districts of New Mills and Whaley Bridge and the rural district of Chapel-en-le-Frith
Cranbrook House, 47 Cranbrook Street, Nottingham NG1 1ES. Tel.: Nottingham 49791. Nottingham, Derbyshire (except the High Peak District viz.: the boroughs of Buxton, the urban district of New Mills and Whaley Bridge, the rural district of Chapel-en-le-Frith), Leicestershire, parts of Holland and Kesteven and the City of Lincoln.
Those in Birmingham, Cardiff, Luton and Newcastle are housed in permanent purpose built accommodation whilst the remainder are in temporary accommodation in the Department's regional offices. These will move into permanent accommodation as soon as possible.