HC Deb 04 July 1972 vol 840 cc102-3W
Mr. Gorst

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will state the date on which the Urban Motorways Committee was set up; when it held its first meeting; what its terms of reference are; and if he will list the members of the Committee together with the qualifications which led to their appointment, and the names of any relevant organisations with which they are associated.

Mr. Speed

The Committee was set up and first met in July, 1969. Its terms of reference areTo examine present policies used in fitting major roads into urban areas. To consider what changes would enable urban roads to be related better to their surroundings, physically, visually and socially. To examine the consequences of such changes particularly from the points of view of:

  1. (a) limitations on resources, both public and private;
  2. (b) changes in statutory powers and administrative procedures;
  3. (c) any issues of public policy that the changes would raise.
To recommend what changes, if any, should be made.

Following is a list of members now serving on the Committee:


W. Burns, C.B., Chief Planner and Deputy Secretary, Department of the Environment.


M. E. Beesley, B.Com., Professor of Economics, London Graduate School of Business Studies.

J. S. Berry, Under-Secretary, Department of the Environment.

K. H. Blessley, M.B.E., M.A., F.R.I.C.S., F.A.I., Valuer and Estates Surveyor, Greater London Council.

I. C. R. Byatt, Director of Economics, Department of the Environment.

J. Catlow, Under-Secretary, Department of the Environment.

Lord Cunliffe, M.A., A.A.Dipl., A.R.I.B.A., formerly Director, Architectural Association.

J. Garlick, Deputy-Secretary, Department of the Environment.

A. Goldstein, B.Sc.Eng., A.C.G.I., D.I.C., F.I.C.E., F.I.Struct.E., M.I.H.E., R. Travers Morgan and Partners, Consulting Engineers.

P. Hall, M.A., Ph.D., Professor of Geography, Reading University.

E. E. Hollamby, O.B.E., F.R.I.B.A., A.M.R.T.P.I., Dip.T.P.Lond., Director of Development, London Borough of Lambeth.

S. Holmes, Chief Executive and Town Clerk, City of Liverpool.

N. Lichfield, B.Sc, Ph.D., C.Eng., P.P.R.T.P.I., F.R.I.C.S., M.I.Mun.E., Professor of Economics and Environmental Planning University College, London.

I. Palmer, Under-secretary, Department of the Environment.

A. W. Peterson, C.B., M.V.O., Director General and Clerk, Greater London Council.

P. F. Stott, M.A., F.I.C.E., F.I.H.E., Joint Director of Planning and Transportation, Greater London Council.

A. E. Weddle, A.R.I.B.A., M.R.T.P.I., F.I.L.A., Professor of Landscape Architecture, Sheffield University.

B. H. Wilson, C.B.E., M.A., LL.B., Town Clerk and Chief Executive, London Borough of Camden.

Sir Hugh Wilson, O.B.E., F.R.I.B.A., F.R.T.P.I., Hugh Wilson and Lewis Womersley, Architect-Planners.