HC Deb 20 February 1969 vol 778 cc161-2W
Mr. Idwal Jones

asked the Secretary of State for Wales what plans he has for increasing the membership of the Welsh Committee of the Water Resources Board, with a view to associating it more closely with those who will be concerned with the future deployment of water resources in Wales.

Mr. George Thomas

I am pleased to say that, after consultation with me, the Chairman of the Water Resources Board, the research and advisory body which serves the Ministry of Housing and Local Government and myself, has agreed to appoint five additional members of the Welsh Committee of the Board. This will now consist of the two Welsh members of the Board (Dr. Bassett and Professor Wareing), the Chairmen of the seven River Authorities operating in Wales and the additional members, who between them will have wide experience of agriculture, industry and the use of water resources for recreation. The new members are as follows:

  • Mr. John Tudor (Merioneth).
  • Mr. W. J. C. Field (Flintshire).
  • Mr. K. W. T. Jones (Brecon).
  • Mr. J. W. Griffiths (Montgomeryshire).
  • Mr. Trevor Williams (Denbighshire).