HC Deb 18 November 1968 vol 773 cc191-2W
69. Mr. Bruce-Gardyne

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs if he will specify the respective responsibilities of each of the Ministers in his Department.

Mr. Michael Stewart

The responsibilities of Ministers in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office are as follows:

Minister of State (Mr. Mulley)

  • Disarmament and Defence Questions.
  • North Atlantic Treaty Organisation.
  • Economic and Trade Questions.
  • Administration of the Diplomatic Service.

Minister of State (Lord Caradon)

  • United Nations (in New York).

Minister of State (Lord Chalfont)

  • Western Europe (including the European Economic Community).
  • The Americas.

Minister of State (Lord Shepherd)

  • Asia.
  • Pacific and Indian Oceans.
  • Administration of Dependent Territories.

Minister of State (Mr. Roberts)

  • North Africa.
  • Near East.
  • Eastern Europe.
  • United Nations.

Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Mr. Foley)

  • Africa (except North Africa).
  • Information Questions.

Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Mr. Whitlock)

  • Southern Europe.
  • Consular Questions.
  • Claims.