HC Deb 07 November 1966 vol 735 c199W
7. Sir R. Russell

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs what colonial territories are to be examined in the coming months by the United Nations Special Committee on the ending of colonialism.

Mrs. White

Before completing its work for 1966, the United Nations Special Committee on the end of colonialism (Committee of Twenty-Four) still apparently intends to consider 17 British territories, 3 Spanish territories and 1 American territory; also Oman which is, of course, an independent State and not a colonial territory.

The following colonial territories are still due to be considered by the United Nations Special Committee on the situation with regard to the implementation of the declaration on the granting of independence to colonial countries and peoples before it completes its work for 1966:

British Territories Bahamas, Bermuda, Turks and Caicos Islands, Cayman Islands, Virgin Islands, Barbados, Montserrat, Antigua, St. Lucia, St. Kitts, St. Vincent, Dominica, Grenada, Falkland Islands, British Honduras (the foregoing have already been considered by a sub-committee of the Special Committee); Gibraltar and Aden.

United States Territories U.S. Virgin Islands.

Spanish Territories Ifni, Spanish Sahara, Equatorial Guinea.

Non-Colonial The Sultanate of Muscat and Oman.