HC Deb 04 December 1956 vol 561 cc114-5W
Mr. Brockway

asked the Under-Secretary of State for Commonwealth Relations what provision exists for higher and technical education in each of the three High Commission Territories; and what is the number of students from each territory who are receiving such education.

Lord John Hope

In Basutoland the Pius XII College at Roma provides higher education for all three territories. The number of students from each Territory attending courses there is as follows:—Basutoland 9, Bechuanaland Protectorate 12 and Swaziland 1.

There are no facilities for higher education in the Bechuanaland Protectorate and Swaziland.

In Basutoland there are two technical schools:—Lerotholi Technical School and Leloaleng Mission Technical School, with a total of 371 students, including 239 domestic science students.

There is no technical school in the Bechuanaland Protectorate, but 13 students from that Territory attend schools in Basutoland and Swaziland. It is proposed to establish a trades school as part of the five-year plan for the development of education in the Territory. In Swaziland there is one trades school at Mbabane, with 53 students.

A number of students are also receiving higher and technical education in the Union of South Africa and the United Kingdom. The figures are as follows:—

Higher Education Basutoland: Union 13, United Kingdom 7 Bechuanaland Protectorate: Union 26. United Kingdom 2. Swaziland: Union 2.

Technical Education Basutoland: United Kingdom 1. Bechuanaland Protectorate: Union 1.

These figures relate to students sponsored by the Territories Governments; they do not include any who may have made private arrangements.

Forward to