HC Deb 21 November 1950 vol 481 cc31-2W
103. Mr. Baldwin

asked the President of the Board of Trade to what countries it is possible for Great Britain to export apples without payment of duty; what countries impose a duty; and what countries prohibit importation entirely.

Mr. Bottomley

According to the information in our possession, no Customs Duty is leviable in the following countries on fresh apples imported from Great Britain: Canada, Southern Rhodesia, Northern Rhodesia, Kenya, Uganda, Tanganyika, Zanzibar, Somaliland, Sierre Leone, Barbados, Bermuda, Dominica, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Antigua, British Honduras, St. Christopher-Nevis, Montserrat, Virgin Islands, Trinidad, Aden, Fiji, Gibraltar, Hong Kong, Brunei, Sarawak, Malaya, Singapore, Seychelles, Solomon Islands, Gilbert and Ellice Islands, Falkland Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands, Faroe Islands, Poland, Brazil, Chile, St. Pierre, Miquelon, Netherlands Antilles, Nicaragua, Belgian Congo, French Somaliland, French Cameroons, French Equatorial Africa, Canary Islands, Portuguese India, French India, Timor.

In the following countries Customs Duty is leviable on fresh apples imported from Great Britain: Australia, Ceylon, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Bahamas, British Guiana, Cayman Islands, Cyprus, Gambia, Gold Coast, Grenada, Jamaica, Malta,* Mauritius, Nigeria, North Borneo, St. Helena, Anglo-Egyptian Sudan, Tonga, Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Finland, France, Western Germany, Greece, Holland, Hungary, Iceland, Irish Republic, Italy, Luxembourg, Norway, Portugal, Roumania, Spain, Sweden,* Switzerland, Yugoslavia, Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Equador, Guadeloupe, Martinique, French Guiana, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Surinam, Panama, Peru,* Paraguay, Salvador, U.S.A. (including Alaska, Hawaii and Puerto Rico), Uruguay, Venezuela, Cyrenaica, Tripolitania, Eritrea, Egypt, Ethiopia, Algeria, French Morocco, Reunion, Tunisia, French West Africa, Liberia, Portuguese East Africa, Portuguese West Africa, Cape Verde, San Tome and Principe, Spanish Guinea, Spanish Morocco, Tangier, Afghanistan, Burma, French Indo-China, Indonesia, Iraq, Israel, Japan, Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, New Caledonia, Persian Gulf, Philippines Republic, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Lebanon, Thailand. Virgin Islands of the U.S.A.

* Seasonal duties only.

The importation of fresh apples from Great Britain is at present prohibited in the following countries: Nyasaland, Argentina, Cuba, Mexico, China, Persia, Turkey.

In certain countries which maintain quantitative control of imports shortage of foreign exchange may limit the ability of the importer to obtain the necessary import licence.