HC Deb 25 February 1943 vol 387 cc309-10W
Sir E. Graham-Little

asked the Lord President of the Council whether he is aware that the recently appointed Director of the National Institute for Medical Research, who succeeds in that office a Nobel Prize winner in medicine, possesses no medical qualification and and has had no medical training; what is the present composition of the Medical Research Council and whether he is satisfied that there is adequate representation of clinical medicine on that body?

Sir J. Anderson

The new Director of the National Institute for Medical Research is a distinguished investigator in an important branch of medical science, who has already been head of a department in a medical school of the University of London. I am aware that he is not medically qualified, but I may point out that the clinical departments of the Medical Research Council are not comprised in the National Institute. The present members of the Medical Research Council are as follow:

  • The Rt. Hon. Lord Balfour of Burleigh (Chairman).
  • Sir William M. Goodenough, Bart., D.L., J.P. (Treasurer).
  • Sir Charles MacAndrew, T.D., M.P.
  • Professor T. R. Elliott, C.B.E., D.S.O., M.D., F.R.C.P., F.R.S.
  • Sir Wilson Jameson, K.C.B., M.D., F.R.C.P.
  • Professor S. P. Bedson, M.D., F.R.S.
  • Mr. E. Rock Carling, F.R.C.S.
  • Professor F. C. Bartlett, C.B.E., F.R.S.
  • Professor E. D. Adrian, O.M., M.D., F.R.C.P., F.R.S.
  • Sir Henry H. Dale, G.B.E., M.D., F.R.C.P., F.R.S.
  • Professor D. Keilin, Sc.D., F.R.S.
The principal subjects represented by the eight members appointed in respect of their scientific qualifications are clinical medicine, surgery, preventive medicine, pathology and bacteriology, pharmacology, physiology and neurology, biochemistry, and psychology. I am satisfied that this provides a well balanced representation of the different branches of medical science.