HC Deb 14 April 1937 vol 322 cc1026-7W
Mr. Mander

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs whether he will state the membership of the International Board for Non-Intervention in Spain; the principal officers employed by the board; and the contributions paid towards the expenses of its maintenance and operation by each Power?

Viscount Cranborne

The International Board for Non-Intervention in Spain consists of the diplomatic representatives in London of the United Kingdom, France, Germany, the Soviet Union, Italy, Poland, Greece and Norway, under the Chairmanship of Vice-Admiral van Dulm (Netherlands).

The principal officers employed by the board are as follows:—

  1. 1. The Secretary: Mr. Francis Hemming (United Kingdom).
  2. 2. Three Assistant Secretaries: Signor Varé (Italy), M. de Felcourt (France), Dr. Kiep (Germany).
  3. 3. Director of Accounts: Paymaster-Captain Durman, R.N. retired (United Kingdom).

In am not yet in a position to give details of the contributions paid or promised by all the Governments concerned, though I understand that the total contributions promised cover the estimated cost of the scheme for a period of one year. Each of the five principal countries concerned will pay 16 per cent. of the total cost of the international scheme and of the Anglo-Portuguese scheme, i.e., £143,680 each, the contribution of the United Kingdom being abated by the estimated sum of £64,000 on account of the liabilities incurred by His Majesty's Government in connection with the Portuguese scheme. The remaining countries together will contribute in all 20 per cent. of the total cost.