HC Deb 19 May 1936 vol 312 c1020W

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs the names of all the protectorates and mandated territories held by Great Britain and the terms of such mandates?


The following is a list of the British Protectorates:

  • Bechuanaland Protectorate.
  • Swaziland.
  • Northern Rhodesia.
  • Nyasaland Protectorate.
  • Somaliland Protectorate.
  • Uganda Protectorate.
  • Zanzibar.
  • Aden Protectorate.
  • British Solomon Islands Protectorate.
  • Kenya Protectorate.
  • Gambia Protectorate.
  • The northern territories of the Gold Coast.
  • Nigeria Protectorate.
  • Sierra Leone Protectorate.

The last five named are administered as integral parts of the Colonies bearing the same name.

The Mandates administered by His Majesty's Government in the United Kingdom are Palestine, Tanganyika, Togoland and the Cameroons. The terms of the Mandates for Tanganyika, Togoland and the Cameroons will be found in Command Paper 1794, and for Palestine in Command Paper 1785.