HC Deb 11 November 1930 vol 244 cc1491-2W

asked the President of the Board of Trade what is the present constitution of the Board of Trade Advisory Council; what changes in the constitution of the council have been made during the past six months; and what reasons have been given for recent resignations from the council?


The Board of Trade Advisory Council consists of representatives of industry and commerce together with certain Dominion and other official representatives. Appended is a full list of the members of the council showing changes made during the last six months. During that period Sir E. Petter resigned on account of his disapproval of the decision of His Majesty's Government to ratify the Commercial Convention of April last. Lord Bradbury has also resigned as important business engagements prevented him from attending on the day fixed for the monthly meeting.

The present membership of the Board of Trade Advisory Council is as follows:—

  • Mr. Thomas Barron (Building and Shipbuilding).
  • Sir J. George Beharrell, D.S.O. (Rubber).
  • Mr. H. J. Bostock (Boots and Shoes).
  • Sir Woodman Burbidge, Bart., C.B.E. (Distributive Trades).
  • Mr. John Cairns, J.P. (Co-operative).
  • Mr. G. L. M. Clauson, O.B.E. (Colonial Office).
  • Mr. G. C. Clayton, C.B.E., Ph.D. (Chemicals).
  • Sir Edward Crowe, K.C.M.G. (Foreign Office).
  • Sir Ernest W. Glover. Bart. (Shipping).
  • Mr. F. C. Goodenough (British Bankers Association).
  • Sir Guy Granet, G.B.E. (Banking).
  • Mr. Douglas Hamilton (Wool).
  • Sir Hugo Hirst, Bart. (Electrical Industry).
  • 1492
  • Mr. R. J. Hose (South American Trade).
  • Sir C. W. Hurcomb, K.B.E., C.B. (Ministry of Transport).
  • Mr. H. W. Lee, J.P. (Cotton).
  • Mr. Lennox B. Lee (Federation of British Industries).
  • Mr. H. A. F. Lindsay, C.I.E., C.B.E., I.C.S. (India).
  • Sir James Lithgow, Bart., M.C. (Federation of British Industries).
  • Captain Oliver Lyttelton, D.S.O., M.C. (Non-Ferrous Metals).
  • Mr. George A. Mitchell (Chambers of Commerce).
  • Sir William R. Morris, Bart. (Motor Industry).
  • Mr. T. W. Phillips, C.B., C.B.E. (Ministry of Labour).
  • Mr. Arthur Pugh, C.B.E. (Iron and Steel).
  • Sir Walter Raine (Chambers of Commerce).
  • Mr. G. E. Rowland (Engineering).
  • Mr. John Sanderson (Australia).
  • Sir Kenneth Stewart, K.B.E. (Cotton).
  • Alderman M. F. Titterington (Wool).
  • Mr. C. Te Water (South Africa).
  • Mr. Arthur Varley (Co-operative).
  • Mr. Ernest T. Walker (Hosiery).
  • Mr. Ben Walmsley, C.B.E. (Iron and Steel).
  • Mr. Ridley Warham (Coal).
  • Sir Ralph Wedgwood, C.B., C.M.G. (Railways).
  • Sir T. M. Wilford, K.C. (New Zealand).

The changes that have taken place since 11th May last have been the resignation of Sir Ernest Petter and of Lord Bradbury, the retirements of the Rt. Hon. R. McKenna (British Bankers' Association), Mr. C. A. Hill (Chemicals), Sir D. Milne-Watson (Chemicals) and Mr. J. R. Richmond (Marine Engineering), and the appointment of Mr. F. C. Goodenough (British Bankers' Association), Dr. G. C. Clayton (Chemicals), Mr. G. E. Rowland (Engineering) and Mr. H. J. Bostock (Boots and Shoes). Mr. G. L. M. Clauson has also succeeded Mr. R. V. Vernon as representative of the Colonial Office.