HC Deb 24 February 1927 vol 202 cc1946-7W
Lieut.-Colonel HORLICK

asked the President of the Board of Education if he will give the names of the Members of the Committee set up to advise on Empire education; and how many meetings were held during 1926?


I understand that my hon. and gallant Friend is referring to the Advisory Committee of the Imperial Education Conference. The Committee is composed of the High Commissioners and Agents-General of the Overseas Governments, with representatives of the India Office, the Colonial Office, the Board of Education and the Scottish Education Department. It consists of the following members:

  • Sir Aubrey V. Symonds, K.C.B. (Chairman).
  • The High Commissioner for the Dominion of Canada.
  • The High Commissioner for the Commonwealth of Australia.
  • The High Commissioner for New Zealand.
  • The High Commissioner for the Union of South Africa
  • The High Commissioner for Newfoundland.
  • The High Commissioner for India.
  • The High Commissioner for Southern Rhodesia.
  • The Agent-General for British Columbia.
  • The Agent-General for Ontario.
  • The Agent-General for Quebec.
  • The Agent-General for Nova Scotia. The Agent-General for New South Wales.
  • Secretary of the Office or the Agent-General for Queensland.
  • The Agent-General for Tasmania.
  • The Agent-General for South Australia.
  • The Agent-General for Victoria.
  • 1947
  • The Agent-General for Western Australia.
  • Mr. P. H. Dumbell, India Office.
  • Lord Gorell, C.B.E., M.C. Board of Education.
  • Sir Edmund Phipps, C.B., Board of Education.
  • Mr. A. R. Ainsworth, Board of Education.
  • Sir George Macdonald, C.B., F.B.A., LL.D., Scottish Education Department.
  • Mr. G. W. Alexander, Scottish Education Department.
  • Mr. L. McQuibban, C.B.E., Northern Ireland.
  • Mr. H. Vischer, C.B.E., Colonial Office.
  • Mr. E. B. Boyd, Colonial Office.
Since the last meeting of the Imperial Education Conference the Advisory Committee has met on three occasions, of which two were in 1926, and its Sub-Committee on three occasions, all in the current year.