HC Deb 16 March 1922 vol 151 cc2396-7W

asked the Chancellor of the Exchequer the number and names of the Government directors in the companies in which the Government have a financial interest, the terms of these appointments, and the remuneration paid to each; if in any case it is in addition to any other payment made out of public funds; and, if so, in which cases and of what amounts and for what services?


The Government directors receiving remuneration from public funds are as follow:

entitled as directors. None of them is in receipt of any other remuneration from public funds. The following directors receive no remuneration from public funds, but retain any directors' fees to

Company. Directors.
Suez Canal Co. Mr. H. T. Anstruther.
Sir Ian Z. Malcolm, K. C. M. G.
British Dyestuffs Corporation Ltd. Sir H. Birchenough, Bart., K. C. M. G.
Lord Ashfield.
British American Nickel Corporation of Canada Sir Bobert Borden.
Sir Eric Hambro.
Munster Flax Development Co., Ltd. Mr. W. Brock.
Turkish Petroleum Co. Mr. Hugh Lancelot Smith.
*Standard Shipbuilding & Engineering Co., Ltd. Lt. Col. L. O. Wilson, C. M. G., D. S. O., M. P.
Sir A. W. Lawrence, Bart.
Sir Oswyn Murray, K. C. B.
*Messers. Edward Finch & Co. (1916), Ltd. Sir V. W. Baddeley, K. C. B.
*The Chepstow Property Co., Ltd. Sir H. N. Bunpury, K. C. B.
Mr. L. A. T. Shorto, C. B. E.
*The companies are in process of liquidation: the duties are nominal and no fees are paid.