HC Deb 25 April 1917 vol 92 c2422W

asked the hon. Member for Sheffield (Central Division) if he will state the names of the members originally appointed to the Central Prisoners of War Committee; the names of any members since appointed to-the Committee, if any, with the dates of such appointments; and the names of any members who have resigned from the Committee, if any, with the dates of such resignations?


The names of the original members of the Central Prisoners of War-Committee are as follows:—

  • The Right Hon. Sir Starr Jameson,. Bart., OB.
  • Sir John Hewett, G.C.S.I.
  • Sir William Garstin, G.C.M.G.
  • The Hon. W H. Goschen.
  • Mr. N. E. Waterhouse.
  • Major A. Y. G. Campbell, C.I.E
  • Mr. Rowland Berkeley.
  • The hon. and learned Member for Bassetlaw.

The following alterations have taken place in the constitution of the Committee:—

Mr. P. D. Agnew joined the Committee on the 22nd November, 1916, and was appointed managing director on the 12th December, 1916. Major A. Y. G. Campbell resigned on the 12th December, 1916, on being recalled to his duties in India; and Sir John Hewett also resigned on the 16th January, 1917, in view of his appointment to assist Mr. Neville Chamberlain in the Ministry of National Service. General Sir Charles Mansfield Clarke, Bart., G.C.B., G.C.V.O., joined the Comittee on the 31st January, 1917.