HC Deb 16 May 1912 vol 38 cc1435-6W

asked the President of the Local Government Board what local authorities have passed resolutions or sent communications to the Board in favour of altering the appeal under The Housing, Town Planning, etc., Act, 1909, to the Local Government Board?


The following is the list:—

16 Metropolitan Borough Councils.
Battersea Hampstead
Chelsea Holborn
Deptford Kensington
Finsbury Lambeth
Fulham Lewisham
Greenwich St Pancras
Hackney Wandsworth
Hammersmith Westminster
County Borough Councils.
2 other Town Councils.
Stratford-upon-Avon Welshpool
20 other Urban District Councils.
Abercarn Itchen
Beaconsfield Leigh-on-Sea
Carshalton Llanrwst
Chingford Penge
Dawlish Portslade-by-Sea
Earsdon Romford
Erith St. Neots
Frimley Selby
Grays Thurrock Shepton Mallet
Hessle Walton-upon-Thames
33 Rural District Councils.
Alcester Melford
Alresford Monmouth
Aylsham Penybont
Barnstaple Pontefract
Basingstoke Romford
Blaby Skipton
Cannock South Stoneham
Cerne Stockbridge
Cheltenham Thirsk
Cirencester Tisbury
Driffield Tiverton
East Grinstead Vaynor and Penderyn
Foleshill Whiston
Guildford Wight, Isle of
Halesowen Wincanton
Hoxne Winchcomb
Of the seventy-one local authorities who have made the representations, only three had any experience of appeal procedure prior to the making of the representation, and in these cases the appeal was abandoned at an early stage before any local inquiry had been held.