HL Deb 07 December 1998 vol 595 c719
The Chairman of Committees (Lord Boston of Faversham)

My Lords, I beg to move the first Motion standing in my name on the Order Paper.

Moved, That, as proposed by the Committee of Selection, the following Lords be named of the Committee:

  • L. Barnett,
  • L. Burns,
  • L. Ezra,
  • L. Newby,
  • B. O' Cathain,
  • L. Paul,
  • L. Peston (Chairman),
  • L. Tebbit,
  • L. Thomas of Macclesfield,
  • L. Vinson,
  • V. Weir;
That the Committee have power to adjourn from place to place;

That the Committee have power to appoint specialist advisers;

That the Committee do meet on Wednesday 9th December at half-past ten o'clock.—(The Chairman of Committees.)

Lord Tebbit

My Lords, perhaps I may speak at this stage. I find it slightly embarrassing because the Motion lists me as a member of the committee. I have given formal notice that, unfortunately, much as I would like to serve upon it, I am not able so to do.

The Chairman of Committees

My Lords, I am grateful to the noble Lord, Lord Tebbit, for mentioning that point. I was informed this morning, too late to alter the terms of the Motion itself I regret to say, that it was not possible for the noble Lord to serve on the committee. I can give him an assurance that steps are in hand to ensure that his name no longer appears as a member of the committee and that in due course his name will be replaced by the name of another noble Lord.

On Question, Motion agreed to.