HL Deb 04 February 2004 vol 656 cc21-2WS
The Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Department of Health (Lord Warner)

My right honourable friend the Minister of State for Health (Mr Hutton) has made the following Written Ministerial Statement.

I have been informed by the chairman of the independent regulator of National Health Service foundation trusts that applications for the first wave of NHS foundation trust status will be considered in two groups. This reflects the complexity of a number of applicants and the rigorous approach to assessment that the regulator is adopting.

Subject to assessment criteria being met, the first group will be considered for authorisation from 1 April 2004 and the second group of 12 from 1 July 2004.

The first group of 12 are:
  • Basildon & Thurrock General Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Bradford Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Countess of Chester Hospital NHS Trust
  • Doncaster & Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Homerton University Hospital NHS Trust
  • Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Trust
  • North Tees & Hartlepool NHS Trust
  • Peterborough Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Rotherham General Hospitals NHS Trust
  • WS 22
  • Royal Devon & Exeter Health Care NHS Trust
  • Stockport NHS Trust
  • The Royal Marsden NHS Trust
  • The second group are
  • Addenbrooke's NHS Trust
  • Calderdale & Huddersfield NHS Trust
  • City Hospitals Sunderland NHS Trust
  • Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Guy's & St Thomas' Hospital NHS Trust
  • King's College Hospital NHS Trust
  • Papworth Hospital NHS Trust
  • Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Southern Derbyshire Acute Hospital Services NHS Trust
  • The Queen Victoria Hospital NHS Trust
  • University College London Hospitals NHS Trust
  • University Hospital Birmingham NHS Trust