HL Deb 21 February 2005 vol 669 c149WA
Lord Stoddart of Swindon

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Further to the Written Answer by the Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean on 17 January (WA 85–86) concerning the establishment of agencies of the European Union, which treaty articles provide for the accountability of those agencies; and when each agency was created. [HL1047]

The Minister of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office (Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean)

Listed below are the dates of creation and the treaty articles which provide for the accountability of the European Union Monitoring Centre for Racism and Xenophobia (EUMC), the European Police College (CEPOL), the European Railway Agency (ERA) and the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA).


The EUMC was established under Council Regulation (EC) 1035/97 on 2 June 1997 and commenced its activities in 1998. The legal base is Article 284 and 308 TEC (formerly Articles 213 and 235).


CEPOL was established by Council Decision (2000/ 820/JHA) on 22 December 2000. This decision has regard to Articles 30(1)(c) and 34(2)(c) of the Treaty on European Union. On 13 December 2003, the European Council decided that CEPOL should locate its permanent secretariat in Bramshill, UK.


The ERA officially started work on 15 July 2004 although it is not yet fully functioning. The agency operates under Council Regulation (EC) 881/2004 of 29 April 2004 referring also to Directive 2004/49/ EC (safety directive) and Directive 2004/50/EC (interoperability). The legal base for Regulation 881/ 2004 is Article 71(1) TEC.


The EASA started work on 28 September 2003. The EASA operates under Council Regulation (EC) 1592/2002 of 15 July 2002. The legal base is Article 80(2) TEC.