HL Deb 09 February 2005 vol 669 c114WA
Lord Acton

asked Her Majesty's Government:

In which of Iraq's 18 provinces are:

  1. (a) Sunni Arabs; and
  2. (b) Kurds
in a majority. [HL1027]

Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean

Although there are no recent reliable census figures, it is commonly assessed that: Sunni Arabs are in a majority in Mosul, Anbar, Salahaddin, Diyala and Baghdad provinces. The Shi'a are in a majority in the city of Baghdad itself. But this is outweighed by the Sunni majority in the satellite towns. The Kurds are in a majority in Dohuk, Sulaymania and Arbil provinces.

Forward to