HC Deb 10 May 2004 vol 421 c84W
Llew Smith

To ask the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry if she will list the members of her Department's liabilities management unit; what the qualifications of each are; and what the permanent place of employment of each secondee to the unit is. [170978]

Mr. Timms

The DTI organisational structure contains a Coal Liabilities Unit and a Nuclear Liabilities Management Unit.

There are 39 staff in the Coal Liabilities Unit, 37 of whom are civil servants and two of whom are seconded from our claim handlers IRISC.

There are 15 staff in the Nuclear Liabilties Management Unit, consisting of four civil servants and 11 secondees, from BNFL, UKAEA and RW Newchem.

In addition, both Units have contracts with a number of consultants to provide additional support and advice.